Hello Charles. We’ve been waiting…recap of the Season Finale of Pretty Little Liars

First things first: Spoilers for the episode were EVERYWHERE. I resisted but I did know about Mona’s return and about Charles DiLaurentis. Apparently, a fan was able to decipher Mona’s note and got that answer which is pretty impressive. Now onto the somewhat baffling details. I don’t know what fans were expecting with this finale. A full-on A reveal? Not if there’s a whole 2 seasons still left in the series. We got a gender and a “name”. Yes, I put name in quotation marks because I, along with others, think that Charles is a character we already know who goes by another name. That’s the only thing that would make sense. It’s speculated that Charles is Jason’s brother (possibly twin). We only know this because of the creepy room Spencer goes into that is plastered in pictures of Mrs. DiLaurentis and two young boys. We’re assuming that Charles is one of them. I don’t want to make this a theory post so I’ll just keep talking about other aspects of the episode. Like the fact that Tanner tried it with Caleb and he shut her down real quick. He’s still my all-time favorite male character on the show. He’s level-headed and loyal. With his help (and the rest of Team Boyfriend), the police are finally about to do more good than harm. This applies to the parents as well. This makes me think that the A drama really is close to the end. I’m sure the Liars are gonna figure things out on their own since they’re stuck with A but now the police are (hopefully) on their side too. Oh, can we talk about “The Dollhouse”? How terrifying was that? It wasn’t the fact that A had recreated their rooms or even the prom that was creepy. To me, the voice on the speaker system that was set up like at an amusement park was the icing on the cake. It was like a terrible funhouse. As horrible as it was, a least A tried to make it comfortable for them. Well, Mona said it best: “A has a soul”. I actually felt a smidge of sorry for him when he was at the prom and they tried to crown him prom king. He seemed scared and shy as if he was someone who could never imagine being prom king. It reminded me of the movie, Carrie (I think the Liars actually made a joke about that). We won’t find out anymore answers until Season 6 this summer but I’m sure the fans will actually enjoy coming up with even more theories.

10 Comments

  1. I’ve been waiting for your post on this! We’re supposedly going to find out really soon. I think Marlene said something like it will all be over in the next ten episodes! Then there’s a time jump and another girl goes missing. 😱 I can’t wait for the summer. I desperately don’t want A to be Jason’s twin and really hope it’s one of the guys we already know from the show, Marlene’s said it’s someone we already know anyway! There are supposedly five episodes with big clues in. I think it’s 3.01, 3.24, 4.24, 5.12 and 5.13. I watched 3.24 and that has Ezra quote that before evil there is innocence and 4.24 Jason returns and acts shady with ignoring the girls and “weird memory loss” as they call it. It’s also the episode where Mrs. D has a newly bought bag of women’s clothes in Ali’s room. I’m gonna watch the other two tonight! Ooo and lastly, I think that Tannoy voice sounded like Lesli! Or the girl from the Radley recording. 😱

    Like

    • Sometimes I’m a bit slow to post haha I saw a Tumblr post where someone pointed out that the mask A was wearing actually had the hair attached to it and they were wearing another mask of some kind underneath. So now we don’t even know what A’s hair looks like. I re-watched the ones from seasons 3 and 4 and I love that you noticed that Ezra quote as well. All of the clues either pointed to “That Night” or honestly, Toby. I’m sure the Liars did something horrible that they choose not to remember. As for 4.24, I always thought Mrs. D knew Ali was alive and she was stashing clothes for her but I’m not sure. The voice did sound like either Lesli or Bethany. We were told Lesli plays an important part so maybe she’s a part of all of this. I hope A has one hell of a sob story!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I like the Toby idea but I don’t know how he could do it. He was in a cast the day Mona was taken and he was working when the girls were running from A in the doll house! I’m beginning to wonder if the baby in the Mrs D clip was actually Bethany. Both ep 5.12 & 5.13 were pretty Bethany Young heavy but what it all has to do with her I don’t know!

        Like

      • Toby was my main suspect until the finale. Oh, and it turns out they were in the Dollhouse for a whole 2 weeks! Some people are suggesting that the timeline of when Tanner and the police got to the lair isn’t the same timeline we were watching with the girls and Charles. That would be an interesting twist. The girls could have already escaped by the time the police came to help and that’s why they weren’t seen on the screens. I think that may have been the baby too. I know her and Ali aren’t the same age. The thing is, who are the boys? They have a baby sister that’s only about 5 years younger than them. That doesn’t match too many people on the show. There’s also a theory going around that CeCe may be Charles. I think that’s a possibility.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What! I didn’t know about the different timelines in the finale! That could make the Andrew theory plausible again! I could see Cece being Charles! But whoever it is is taller than Spencer in heels. Unless they’re wearing some kinda platforms. I was hoping it would be Lucas, but I think he’s shorter. I’m still holding out for Wren! Although, thinking back to the Cece theory, in A’s vault there are no pictures of the girl, it’s all of the boys and Mrs. D. So I wonder if A is the baby from the video, and not one of the boys. I have pictures from in the vault on my blog if you want another look. All those weird machines remind me of that guy that made the whispering machine for the brew!

    Like

    • I just looked at your pics and all of the pictures A has of the boys are stills from the video. It is also set up like a nursery. Is it possible that A is Charles’ father? I frequent PLL blogs and everyone seems to think that the person in the Dollhouse wasn’t A. What if Charles was wronged in some way by the Liars and A is just trying to get revenge for him? Charles obviously missed out on Prom for some reason (possibly committed to Radley) and it seems as though he’s around Jason’s age. Also, I believe that Ali’s dad has actually only been in about 3 episodes during the entire run of the show. He’s never been a suspect to me but this is all starting to point to some serious family drama.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Really? I thought Marlene said that without a doubt the person in there with them was A?! Aah so tricksy! The father thing is interesting. One of my favourite theories that came out of this is that Charles is actually Alison’s kid because supposedly we don’t know what happened with the pregnancy scare (I just can’t remember!) so it could be Charles’ father in that sense. I feel like it all leads back to Radley too and the prom thing makes sense. I really feel like A is a guy because of the finale and the whole great Charlemagne thing, I just don’t know who! Gosh I can’t wait for the summer revelation!

        Like

      • I can’t wait either! Marlene is being very vague and I wouldn’t be surprised if she meant the pictures were of A. I did see the theory about Charles being Alison’s son but I’m not sure that’s playing into what’s happening unless something happened to the baby. I wanna know who was videotaping Mrs. D and the kids. Maybe it wasn’t Ali’s dad. I don’t know. I’m trying to come up with my own theory but I’m stumped lol

        Like

Leave a comment